Motor Vehicle Registration

Tax Office
Brewer City Hall (lower level)
80 N. Main Street
Brewer, ME 04412

Hours:       Monday – Friday   8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Phone:      207.989.7060
Fax:          207.989.8435

Renewals

Renewal of your vehicle registration can be completed online. Click the Rapid Renewal logo below to begin the process.

You can also renew in person at the Tax Office at Brewer City Hall. We take cash and checks.  We also now accept credit and debit cards, though a convenience fee will apply.   

To expedite your re-registration, you will need:

  • Expiring registration
  • Current insurance card
  • Odometer reading

New Registrations and Transfer of Registrations to New/New-to-you Vehicles

Purchase from a Maine licensed dealer:
If you already have plates and you have purchased your vehicle from a Maine licensed dealer, we can process the entire transaction at Brewer City Hall.  If you do not have plates, you will need to go to a Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office to obtain plates; however, you must first pay the excise tax on your vehicle at Brewer City Hall.

Purchase from a private owner or out-of-state dealer:
If you purchased a vehicle from a private owner or an out-of-state dealer, you will need to go to a Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office to complete your registration even if you have plates; however, you must first pay the excise tax on your vehicle at Brewer City Hall.

Bring the following to expedite the registration process:

 Dealer sale:

  •   Sales tax form
  •   Title application
  •   Odometer reading
  •   Proof of insurance (must be current)
  •   Window sticker (brand new vehicles only)

Private sale:

  •   Bill of sale
  •   Previous owner’s title, signed over to new owner (vehicles 15 years old and newer)
  •   Odometer reading
  •   Proof of insurance (must be current)

If you are transferring your registration, you will need:

  •   Registration of vehicle you are transferring from

Check the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles for office locations and hours of operation.

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax and Registration Fees

In Maine, the excise tax is based on the MSRP (manufacturer’s suggested retail price) of the vehicle when it was sold new. That is why Maine law provides that each new automobile, SUV, van or light truck registered for the first time must be accompanied by the Monroney Label (window sticker).

The law provides that excise tax declines over the first six years of the vehicle’s life and is calculated as follows:

  • First year                                           $24.00 per $1000 of MSRP
  • Second year                                      $17.50 per $1000 of MSRP
  • Third year                                          $13.50 per $1000 of MSRP
  • Fourth year                                        $10.00 per $1000 of MSRP
  • Fifth year                                             $ 6.50 per $1000 of MSRP
  • Sixth and subsequent years                $ 4.00 per $1000 of MSRP

If you know the “sticker price” of a new car, you can calculate the excise tax by subtracting the destination charges, dividing the result by $1,000 and multiplying that by $24.00.

New vehicle example:

Sticker price                          $26,000
Destination charges                -  $550
Total                                      $25,450

$25,450 / $1,000 = $25.45
$25.45 x $24.00 = $610.80

Excise tax                              $610.80
Registration fee                       $35.00
Agent fee                                   $4.00
Total cost to register              $649.80

The same method will be used to calculate the fees to re-register the same vehicle the following year. Your old registration will show the MSRP as the base and the mil rate used. The new mil rate will drop down one year as shown above.

Re-registration example:

MSRP                                   $25,450
Excise tax                              $445.38  (25,450 / 1,000 x 17.50)
Registration fee                       $35.00
Agent fee                                  $3.00
Total cost to re-register         $483.38